General Information

Home / Investment / General Information

Dominican Republic is located in the Caribbean, between Cuba and Puerto Rico. To the North is the Atlantic Ocean, and to the South, the Caribbean Sea, to the East is the Mona Channel and to the West is the Republic of Haiti. It occupies an area of 48,442 sq. km. Its Capital is Santo Domingo and the country is made up of 31 provinces and one National District.

Official Language: Spanish
Legal Currency: Dominican Peso
Population: 10.2 million
Population Density: 210 Inhabitants/km²
Unemployment Rate: 14.2 %
Government: Democratic Republic
Constitutional President: Mr. Danilo Medina Sánchez
Vice-president:  Dr. Margarita Cedeño de Fernández

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *